No India vs Pakistan in Group Stage of T20 World Cup - Tosser Ji


Home Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Thursday, January 31, 2019

No India vs Pakistan in Group Stage of T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup 2019 | World Cup 2019 | T20 World cup team news | T20 World Cup Update | T20 Teams | T20 World Cup News

India and Pakistan will not be facing off against each other in the group stages of both the women’s and men’s T20 World Cups in Australia in 2020. The fixtures for the two events were announced earlier on Tuesday and it was revealed that hosts Australia will take on Pakistan's men and India's women for the opening fixtures.
This will be the first time India and Pakistan will not be facing off in the group stage of a men’s ICC event since 2011. Since then, in each of the five ICC events, the teams have clashed and are scheduled to take each other on at the 2019 World Cup as well. Since Pakistan and India are ranked 1 & 2 in the rankings for T20I teams right now, they have been placed in separate groups.
The T20 World Cups are being held in the same year and in the same country for the first time, with the men's and women's finals to be played at one of the world's biggest stadiums, the Melbourne Cricket Ground.
Ten women's teams will play in 23 matches from February 21 to March 8, with reigning champions Australia to clash with India in the opening game in Sydney.
The men's competition, from October 18 to November 15, will feature several qualifying matches before Australia kicks off the Super 12 group stages on October 24 against top-ranked Pakistan at the Sydney Cricket Ground.
Australia, Pakistan, Windies, New Zealand and two qualifiers make up one side of the draw, with defending champions the Windies starting their title defence against the Blackcaps on October 25.
India, England, South Africa and Afghanistan and two qualifiers make up the other side of the draw.
For the women's fixtures, four-time winners Australia are in Group A with New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka and one qualifier, while Windies and 2009 champions England join South Africa, Pakistan and a second qualifying team.
The women's final will be played on March 8 to coincide with International Women's Day, and the men's final will be held on November 15.

Women's Fixtures (February 21 - March 8)
Group A: Australia, New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka, Qualifier 1
Group B: England, Windies, South Africa, Pakistan, Qualifier 2
Semi-finals: March 5
Final: March 8

Men's Fixtures (October 18 - November 15)
Men's Qualifiers: October 18 - 23
Group 1: Pakistan, Australia, Windies, New Zealand, two qualifiers
Group 2: India, England, South Africa, Afghanistan, two qualifiers
Semi-finals: November 11 and 12
Final: November 15

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad